I cant believe a week ago today I walking around the wonderland that is Glastonbury, its taken me a couple of days to process the events of the last week and upon waking up this morning to return to work this morning the words of the great Dr Seuss rang true…..”don’t cry because its over, smile because it happened”, and my god how it happened ! The bands ! The people ! The weather ! The food ! Glasto 2017 is hands down my favourite visit to the farm in the 8 times I’ve been there, an absolute vintage year.

By the time me and Niki, my gorgeous wife, got home, it really felt like an act of redemption as well. 2015, our last visit, didn’t go to well, all my own reckless doing by the way, I just wanted this year to go so well for us both, take things at a different pace and really savour as much of the festival as we could. It worked as she also says this year was her favourite.

I wont go into loads of detail about what made this year so special as I’ll save that for individual posts regarding the events of each day but there was a very special feel to Worthy Farm this year. The weather certainly helped, being able to walk around in shorts, vest and trainers all weekend with the sun glistening off everything, making the site look absolutely beautiful, really adds something to the experience. Everyone is just happier ! And the amount of effort that all the crews take in making the site look out of this world is not lost in a barrage of rain and mud.

The bands and acts I saw  seemed to revel in the warm weather and really got how special playing at Glastonbury really is. A lot of the acts, whether it being their first time like Lorde or Barry Gibb, or making a return but playing a higher slot, like Royal Blood or The XX, seemed genuinely overwhelmed or excited to be there, this resonates with an audience as much as an audiences reaction is appreciated by the bands themselves.

I think we managed to see pretty much the full site on the Thursday alone, ending the day with a communal camp fire in the woods while drinking damson gin, it was a lovely start which set the tone for the weekend ahead. As well as a shed load of bands over the weekend, quite a few unplanned or changed plans day to day, we found time to explore and bimble about. I found a wander around the T&C fields to be a great natural remedy for a hangover, laughter really is the best medicine and even found time for some gift shopping on the Sunday.

Personal highlights included Lorde, Craig Charles and Royal Blood on the Friday, Craig David and Foo Fighters on the Saturday, and Barry Gibb and London Grammar on the Sunday, but I’ll be posted more detailed blog posts regarding each day in due course.

Even though it felt more chilled out than in previous years Niki and myself still clocked in an impressive 50 miles walking over the 3 and a half days on site, that doesn’t include dancing distance either, so if you are planning Glastonbury one year for the first time please be aware of this, as some people I’ve spoke to clocked in more ! The Glastonbury blues are definitely starting to pass now, I hope they are for others, and as the gloom is clearing I’m left with amazing memories and such a wonderful adventure with my amazing wife Niki, my partner in crime !

Only 8 more shifts at work and then we pack up for our next adventure, Latitude Festival, but this time with our two amazing kids, Ellie 10, and Jacob 8, this will be our third Latitide in a row as a family and we cannot wait.